2014 Ford Explorer Review from one of our own

Nicol&MikeCote

BOURBONNAIS, IL – The 2014 Ford models are making their way onto our lot as well as onto the streets! That includes the 2014 Ford Explorer. We are lucky to have an employee here at Court Street Ford who recently purchased one and she has graciously volunteered to tell us a little bit about the vehicle and why she decided on this model. Nicole is part of our Business Development team, specializing in service follow-up. She is a recent newlywed, who married on the beach in Michigan, to her husband Mike. Together Nicole and Mike have 7 children. She has been with Court Street Ford for over two years. Here she is to tell us about her experience!

Tell us a little bit about why you chose the 2014 Ford Explorer.
This is my first new car and my first time buying a car so there was a lot of research done and decisions to make. I wanted a vehicle that was big enough to fit my family but fuel-efficient too. I chose the 2.0L Eco-Boost FWD engine which has been proven to be a great decision! I have had the Explorer for about three weeks now and am averaging around 20 miles per gallon.

IMG_7891ee

Where has your Explorer taken you?
We have been all over with it! My son, Blake, turned 11 and is a huge soccer fan so we took it up to Bridgeview, Illinois for a Chicago Fire game the first weekend with our new Explorer. The next weekend my daughters and I took a “Girls Only” shopping trip to Fox Valley for school clothes. This past weekend we spent a day across the border in Indiana for my son Brendens 12th birthday. We went to the Indiana Dunes, Portage Bacon Fest and to dinner at Quaker Steak and Lube for their Atomic hot wings. We purchased the vehicle to use it and have many plans to take it all over and on more road trips!

What is your favorite option(s)?

My favorite feature has to be the backup camera! This is my first vehicle with a backup camera so I wasn’t sure what to expect. It gives you a certain peace of mind knowing that you are not going to hit anything backing up. It’s like having your own personal safety crew helping you maneuver in and out of parking spaces and crowded parking lots! I will make sure to have a backup camera on every vehicle I own from now on. I also really enjoy the dual panel moon roof! We have used it a few times now; it lets the fresh air circulate throughout the vehicle without having to have the windows down. The last option that I want to mention is the Sirius Satellite radio. There are stations for my whole family! You can also set up alerts. One of my favorite artists is Aerosmith, so anytime they are played on any station it will prompt on my screen and give me the option to go to that station.

Tell us a little bit more about what you Explorer has to offer.
We built the Explorer and made it our own so it has everything that we wanted on it. We went with the XLT trim level with the 202a package. It has Eco boost engine as I mentioned earlier, 18” aluminum wheels, reverse sensing system, Sync with MyFord Touch with navigation, premium audio system with 9 speakers, rear view camera, heated power leather front seats, 10-way power driver seat, 6-way-power passenger seat, auto dimming rear-view mirror, and 4-way adjustable front head restraints. I also opted to have the remote start added which allows me to have the vehicle cooled down for me before I leave for work in the morning or if we are just out and about. I’m sure this will be a wonderful asset to have in the winter when it is cold out!

Has the Explorer been family friendly for you?
Yes it has. A few features that we love include the USB ports for the passengers that allow them to use their portable devices in the vehicle. It is also comfortable for them. I wanted a vehicle that we can take on trips that was also comfortable for my family. The storage capacity is also great! On our trip to the Indiana Dunes we had a full-sized cooler plus chairs and all of our gear in the back. The third option that I feel makes it family friendly is the climate control options. I have control of the climate on the screen up front or I can give them access of the temperature controls themselves!

That is an interesting color; tell us a little about that.
The color is called Dark Side and it is new for the 2014 Models. We went back and forth on what color we wanted but ultimately decided on this one because it sparkles! Depending on what light you see it in or what angle you are viewing it at the vehicle takes on a whole new look. From one angle and light source it can look like it is Dark Blue but then also take in a greenish appeal. We have also seen it look black! I like that it is a new color that is subtle but also stands out because not a lot of people have this color yet.

This wraps up our review of the 2014 Ford Explorer! If you have any questions that you would like to ask Nicole she can be reached by email at Nicole@Courtstreetford.net.

Court Street Ford, located at 558 William Latham Drive, is a multi-year president’s award winning dealership. We have been serving the Kankakee, Bradley, Bourbonnais area for 30 years and counting! We are committed to exceptional customer service. Stop by or give us a call at (815) 939-9600, our knowledgeable sales team and service department will be happy to help and are dedicated to providing the best experience for every customer.

Visit our Website: Court Street Ford

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jeff says:

    Very well said. We are happy that your first new vehicle was purchased from us.

    Thanks!

    Jeff Chiero

Leave a Reply

